Santarcangelo di Romagna
Number of residents : 17.168
Height sea : m 42
Distance from Riccione : km 19
The history of the municipality
Santarcangelo di Romagna in Romany times was called "Pagus Acervolanus" or "Acervolanus". Here fled first Christians persecuted and perhaps in amletiche, tufacee ancient caves. However, the first news on historical Santarcangelo di Romagna is located in the Code Bavaro citing a "pagus" and the church built in X perhaps century on the foundations of a pre-existing temple.
The city was subject to the bishops of Ravenna and Rimini and was fortified in the XI century. The fortress is still tangible testimony.
In the 1300 is succeeded by his domain Cesena with Rimini in 1390 and the city was conquered by Giovanni Sforza. Malatesti there reigned until 1462 when it was conquered with a terrible sack by the troops commanded by Federico da Montefeltro. Previously the tower of the fortress was halved. From 1503 to 1505, enjoying special tax exemptions, Santarcangelo di Romagna was ruled by the Venetians.
After the family moved Zampeschi, the city returned to the bishops who were home with jurisdiction on the territory of Rimini to San Marino.
The city found vigour and splendour in'700 particularly when he was elected pope Lorenzo Ganganelli, born in Santarcangelo that went down in history, with the name of Clement XIV, for having removed the Society of Jesus. He was dedicated learning triumphant by Cosimo Morelli, who also designed the front square.
Since 1863 Santarcangelo di Romagna bearing the title of city. We are born, among other things, a painter Guido Cagnacci, Tonino Guerra poet, actor Paolo Carlini and lived there for a long time, the historian Joachim Volpe.
The main attractions
Santarcangelo di Romagna offers visitors and historical curiosity. The most visited monument and certainly not fully catalogued, the caves are carved in the tuff of the hill Jovis that traforano the city centre. Basilica rock entitled to the god Mithras? Cellars wine? Catacombs? Certainly there is that the caves of Santarcangelo are unique and rare architectural beauty.
Along with caves stands the beautiful collegiate church, built in'700. Here are a crucifix kept by the school of Giotto and a polyptych of Iacobello Bonomo dated from 1385 with the paintings of Longhi and Cagnacci. To visit all the old town on the hill, with its narrow streets called "quarters". The clock tower or Campanone, 800's, is witness to the secular symbol of the city. Not far away is the fortress Malatesta, where legend has it that consumasse the story of Paul and Frances. Inside, spacious rooms with antique furniture wisely used by the property, the principles Colonna, literary conference. Since then tower dominates a unique view. To the west of the city is the pre-Romanesque Pieve, restored after the war by the Company Workers Mutual Aid, as well as the beautiful Celletta Zampeschi of 1400. In the new town, founded around the square Ganganelli, there are the building of the town hall, the church of Suffrage, which houses the library fund and Baldini Volpe and beautiful porches Torlonia. Recently opened is the ethnographic museum in Montevecchi, where they collected the testimonies of life campaign dell'800 and first'900. Here is secured to fund photographic De 'Girolami. Among the many curiosities, in addition to the "grave" of St. Martin of Mills, a 6 1300, there is the ancient Bottega del Mangano where the webs are printed to rust. In Verdi street overlook the shop Alfonso Giorgetti, artist-blacksmith and Federico Moroni, internationally renowned painter.Santarcangelo, however, remains a favourite destination for good food with its restaurants and trattorias-for autumn festival dedicated to horned.